Aug 06

Fred Wilpon gives Minaya a vote of confidence.

I think it’s safe to say things aren’t going to fundamentally change for the Mets any time soon. They might get hot for a week or two, perhaps even hang around on the fringe of the pennant race, but the foundation of this mediocrity won’t change.

There will undoubtedly be a managerial firing, but unless they bring in a heavyweight, the hierarchy will stay the same.

Speaking at an SNY function yesterday, Mets owner Fred Wilpon gave a vote of confidence to GM Omar Minaya. When asked Thursday if Minaya would be back next year, Wilpon said: “Is the sun going to come up tomorrow?”

Minaya is signed through the 2012 season and owed $2 million.

Manager Jerry Manuel does not have a contract for next season and it has been consistently reported the Mets have to make the playoffs if he’s to return.

S0, next year shouldn’t be that much different than this year.

Nov 17

Mets release spring training sked ….

The World Series ended less than two weeks ago and the Mets have already released their 2010 spring training schedule.

Here it is:

Tue. March 2 Atlanta Braves Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Wed. March 3 Atlanta Braves Disney 1:05 p.m.

Thurs. March 4 St. Louis Cardinals Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Fri. March 5 Florida Marlins Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m
St. Louis Cardinals Jupiter 1:05 p.m.

Sat. March 6 Washington Nationals Viera 1:05 p.m.

Sun. March 7 Washington Nationals Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Mon. March 8 Florida Marlins Jupiter 1:05 p.m.

Tue. March 9 Houston Astros Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Wed. March 10 Atlanta Braves Disney 1:05 p.m.

Thurs. March 11 Boston Red Sox Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Fri. March 12 Minnesota Twins Ft. Myers 1:05 p.m.

Sat. March 13 Detroit Tigers Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Sun. March 14 Florida Marlins Jupiter 1:05 p.m.

Mon. March 15 St. Louis Cardinals Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Tue. March 16 OFF

Wed. March 17 Boston Red Sox Ft. Myers 1:05 p.m.

Thurs. March 18 Florida Marlins Jupiter 7:05 p.m.

Fri. March 19 Minnesota Twins Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Sat. March 20 St. Louis Cardinals Jupiter 1:05 p.m.

Sun. March 21 University of Michigan Port St. Lucie 11:10 a.m.
Houston Astros Kissimmee 1:05 p.m.

Mon. March 22 Washington Nationals Viera 1:05 p.m.

Tue. March 23 Atlanta Braves Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Wed. March 24 Houston Astros Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Thurs. March 25 St. Louis Cardinals Jupiter 1:05 p.m.

Fri. March 26 Florida Marlins Jupiter 1:05 p.m.

Sat. March 27 Washington Nationals Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Sun. March 28 St. Louis Cardinals Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Mon. March 29 Florida Marlins Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.
Washington Nationals Viera 1:05 p.m.

Tue. March 30 St. Louis Cardinals Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Wed. March 31 Florida Marlins Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Thurs. April 1 Washington Nationals Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Fri. April 2 Tampa Bay Rays St. Petersburg 6:05 p.m.

Sat. April 3 Baltimore Orioles Sarasota 1:10 p.m.