Nov 17

Just a reminder ….

I have a poll up on whether the Mets should bring back Carlos Delgado. You can still vote and comment. Also, I invite you to scroll down the page and re-visit some other posts if you haven’t already. Feel free to comment. I’ll know when you do and will respond.

Thanks. JD

Nov 17

Mets release spring training sked ….

The World Series ended less than two weeks ago and the Mets have already released their 2010 spring training schedule.

Here it is:

Tue. March 2 Atlanta Braves Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Wed. March 3 Atlanta Braves Disney 1:05 p.m.

Thurs. March 4 St. Louis Cardinals Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Fri. March 5 Florida Marlins Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m
St. Louis Cardinals Jupiter 1:05 p.m.

Sat. March 6 Washington Nationals Viera 1:05 p.m.

Sun. March 7 Washington Nationals Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Mon. March 8 Florida Marlins Jupiter 1:05 p.m.

Tue. March 9 Houston Astros Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Wed. March 10 Atlanta Braves Disney 1:05 p.m.

Thurs. March 11 Boston Red Sox Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Fri. March 12 Minnesota Twins Ft. Myers 1:05 p.m.

Sat. March 13 Detroit Tigers Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Sun. March 14 Florida Marlins Jupiter 1:05 p.m.

Mon. March 15 St. Louis Cardinals Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Tue. March 16 OFF

Wed. March 17 Boston Red Sox Ft. Myers 1:05 p.m.

Thurs. March 18 Florida Marlins Jupiter 7:05 p.m.

Fri. March 19 Minnesota Twins Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Sat. March 20 St. Louis Cardinals Jupiter 1:05 p.m.

Sun. March 21 University of Michigan Port St. Lucie 11:10 a.m.
Houston Astros Kissimmee 1:05 p.m.

Mon. March 22 Washington Nationals Viera 1:05 p.m.

Tue. March 23 Atlanta Braves Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Wed. March 24 Houston Astros Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Thurs. March 25 St. Louis Cardinals Jupiter 1:05 p.m.

Fri. March 26 Florida Marlins Jupiter 1:05 p.m.

Sat. March 27 Washington Nationals Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Sun. March 28 St. Louis Cardinals Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Mon. March 29 Florida Marlins Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.
Washington Nationals Viera 1:05 p.m.

Tue. March 30 St. Louis Cardinals Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Wed. March 31 Florida Marlins Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Thurs. April 1 Washington Nationals Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.

Fri. April 2 Tampa Bay Rays St. Petersburg 6:05 p.m.

Sat. April 3 Baltimore Orioles Sarasota 1:10 p.m.

Nov 16

Why we watch ….

If you hung until the end of last night’s Colts-Patriots game, you know what sports is all about. Even when the outcome seemed clear – the Patriots couldn’t possibly blow a 17-point lead, could they? – there was enough time and talent on the other side of the ball to suggest a twinge of uncertainty.

There was greatness in blue, and the human element of error in judgment in gray that gave us a game for the ages and reminded us not to be so hasty to turn the channel.

OUR HEARTS: What's in that box of chocolates?

OUR HEARTS: What's in that box of chocolates?


We watch until the end because sports can be positively Gumpish, you don’t know what you might get. Just what is in that tightly wrapped package under the tree? Would it be the obvious, such as the Patriots giving up a meaningless touchdown or winning going away? Or, would we treated to the improbable, the unlikely, the surreal?

Would we be treated to a memory?

Last night we got the memory.

Last night was one of those nights that make you hang on and want to hope and dream. If the Colts are your team your faith was rewarded. If the Patriots are your team you felt anguish and amazement. Maybe you felt betrayed.
Continue reading

Nov 14

Poll: Do you want Delgado back?

When Carlos Delgado is healthy and hitting, there are only a handful of first basemen I’d take over him. You know who they are. Albert Pujols, Ryan Howard, Mark Teixeira. There might be a few others.

DELGADO: Should they or shouldn't they?

DELGADO: Should they or shouldn't they?


But, Carlos Beltran’s learned medical diagnosis aside, nobody knows for sure what Delgado can do following hip surgery. At 37, that’s a tough injury to rebound from, which is why GM Omar Minaya will be in Puerto Rico next month to watch him play winter ball.

In 26 games last year, Delgado hit .294 with a .393 on-base percentage, four homers and 23 RBI. Projected over a 162 games, that would be 25 homers and 143 RBI, numbers that would entail a no-brainer when it would come to picking up his option.

Wanna bet he would’ve kept that pace?

Delgado is 37, coming off an injury, and before that had a hot-cold 2008. He is not what the Mets need if their intent is to get younger, more athletic and pare salary.
Continue reading

Nov 13

Do you really believe?

You guys know the Mets. You know their history, their tendencies, the promises made that have long since been forgotten.

Almost gone now are Jeff Wilpon’s words after the debacle known as the Summer of 09, the Mets would be an aggressive trading and spending bunch this winter. A little over six weeks later, with the Hot Stove rumors starting to fire, I don’t believe John Lackey or Matt Holliday will be Mets this summer. I see the Mets slipping back into old habits of hoping for their best, in this case, having their wounded back healthy and doing some patchwork here or there.

Patchwork does not come in the form of $90 million or more packages.

I know a lot of you want Lackey and Holliday, or would be willing to settle for only one. That said, how many, knowing what you know about the Mets, actually believe you’ll get one?