Ike Davis Does The Right Thing

Ike Davis is showing signs of getting it, both at the plate and with his demeanor.
During yesterday’s game in Chicago, Davis apologized to plate umpire Manny Gonzalez for inadvertently touching him with his glove in a dispute at first base the night before. Davis was ejected, will be fined and could be suspended for at least a game.

DAVIS: Apologizes to ump.

”I just told him I’m sorry for touching him with my glove, and I didn’t mean to touch him,” Davis told reporters in Chicago. “And he said, ‘No worries. I know you weren’t doing it maliciously.’ It was good. He didn’t seem like he was too upset at me. And, obviously, I had forgotten about it.”

In the first couple years of his career, Davis was developing a reputation with the umpires as a complainer. He’s calmed down considerably in that regard, and yesterday was a positive step.
Gonzalez missed the call, and hasn’t acknowledged as such. Nonetheless, umpires do appreciate it when a player apologizes. It shows signs of maturity and this could go a long way in helping Davis.
Who knows? The next borderline pitch he might get.

Comments are closed.